I’ve gotta start somewhere, don’t I?

Hi everyone. My name is Laura and I am a current student of Public Relations and Communications (also known as PR) at the University of Greenwich, in London, UK. The purpose of this blog is to share with you some insights of PR and help you understanding a little bit more the PR’s use of communication channels.

I know, most of you will start wondering ”what is PR?’, I’m aware that there’s a lot of confusion about it. Public Relations is a form of communication that aims at creating and maintaining mutual understanding between an organisation and its public. That’s basically it, and please don’t confuse it with advertising, because it’s not.

As you can tell from the title of this blog, PR is one of my biggest passions. Building up strong  and long-lasting relationships, getting to know many cultures  and working in a stimulating and ever-changing environment, where no two days are the same, are just some of the reasons why I decided to ”start” this journey into the PR world.
This passion, since I was in high school, is driving me to look for always more ad more information about this field. Curiosity may have killed the cat, but it definitely makes a PR a pro. So never stop being curious if you wanna start a career in PR,  that’s the first tip I can give you.

Also, you have to have a strong passion for writing, because it will take most part of your time, both when studying and working. If not, then you should take into consideration that PR might not be the career that suits you the best.
The rise of social media platforms is definitely increasing the number of communication channels PR use, but also changing their use.

That’s what I’m going to talk about in the next post, so stay tuned!

 

 

 

Leave a comment